Players listening as the 28-man squad list being read out

By Mohamed Fajah Barrie

Leone Stars coach John Keister says he’s happy with the squad he has selected to represent Sierra Leone at the upcoming Africa Cup Nations in Cameroon.

The 28-man squad comprises of 10 home based and 18 overseas based players including two without a club at the moment.

“We are happy with the squad we’ve selected and hopefully the players are good enough to go and compete in the Nations Cup,” said Coach Keister.

“We want to go to the Nations Cup and do well.”

Former Liverpool and Tottenham defender Steven Caulker and former Dutch youth international Issa Kallon- both cleared to play for Sierra Leone by Fifa earlier this month are in the squad.

Veteran star striker Kei Kamara, captain Umaru Bangura and Mohamed ‘Medo’ Kamara currently without a club are all included in the list.

Also making the cut are the England based quartet of Sullay KaiKai, David Sesay, Osman Kakay and Idris Kanu.

Defender Kelvin Wright who just parted ways with Swedish club Orebro will also be part of the Leone Stars squad in Cameroon.

Major absentees are midfielder Rodney Strasser who won Serie A league with AC Milan in 2011, Mustapha Dumbuya presently unattached and Abu Bakarr Samura known as Lucio of Kallon FC.

Also failing to make the list is Augustus Kargbo who plays for Italian second tier side Crotone as a forward.

The tournament in Cameroon which begins on January 9 and ends on February 6 will be Sierra Leone’s third appearance in the Africa Cup of Nations finals after Tunisia 1994 and South Africa 1996.

Leone Stars are in group E alongside defending champions Algeria, Ivory Coast and Equatorial Guinea.

Sierra Leone are expected to arrive in Douala on January 5, six days before their opening match with Algeria.

Sierra Leone squad:

Goalkeepers: Mohamed N Kamara (East End Lions), Ibrahim Sesay (Bo Rangers), Isaac Caulker (FC Kallon)

Defenders: Yeami Dunia (Bo Rangers), Osman Kakay (QPR, England) Kevin Wright (Unattached), Steven Caulker (Gaziantep, Turkey), David Sesay (Wealdstone, England), Umaru Bangura (Neuchatel Xamax, Switzerland), Daniel Francis (Rot Weiss Ahlen, Germany), Saidu Mansaray (Bo Rangers)

Midfielders: Mohamed Kamara, (Unattached), John Bankole Kamara (Kesla, Azerbaijan), Abu Dumbuya (East End Lions), Saidu Bah Kamara (Bo Rangers), Kwame Quee (Vikingur Reykjavic, Iceland), Saidu Fofana (FC Kallon), Prince Barrie (Bo Rangers), Issa Kallon (SC Cambuur, Netherlands), Idris Kanu (Peterborough United, England), Alhassan Koroma (Real Balompedica Linense, Spain)

Forwards: Musa Noah Kamara (Bo Rangers), Augustine Williams (LA Galaxy, USA), Mustapha Bundu (AGF, Denmark), Alhaji Kamara (Randers, Denmark), Sullay KaiKai (Wycombe Wanderers, England), Mohamed Buya Turay (Henan Songshan, China), Kei Ansu Kamara (HIFK, Finland)