Site icon Sierra Leone

 Kei Kamara misses out on MLS squad to face Arsenal

Kei Kamara

By Mohamed Fajah Barrie in Freetown

Sierra Leonean striker Kei Ansu Kamara has missed out of the list of players picked to make up a MLS All-Star team that will play against Premier League side Arsenal despite he remains a top goal scorer.

The friendly encounter will take place in San Jose, California on July 26.

Twenty six players from different MLS clubs mostly chosen by 2016 All-Star Manager Dominic Kinnear of San Jose earthquakes were announced on Sunday.

The squad included big stars such as World Cup winners Andrea Pirlo of Italy and Spain’s  David Villa, 2007 FIFA player of the year Kaka, and Didier Drogba who was twice CAF’s African player of the year.

The match is part of Arsenal pre-season schedules ahead of the 2016/2017 English Premier League season which will commence in August.

Kamara who had played in the Premier League for Norwich City joined New England Revolution three months ago from Colombus Crew where he excelled last year scoring 26 goals in both MLS regular season and play-offs.

He has so far accounted for 8 goals this season scoring five for Crew and three for New England Revolution.

The full MLS All-Star squad

Goalkeepers: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)

Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire), Liam Ridgewell (Portland Timbers), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Andrew Farrell (New England Revolution)

Midfielders: Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Mauro Diaz (FC Dallas), Andrea Pirlo (NYCFC), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Kaka (Orlando City SC), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact)

Forwards: Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), David Villa (NYCFC), Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC), Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Exit mobile version