Site icon Sierra Leone

Ports Authority Football Club

Ports Authority Football Club

Full name Ports Authority Football Club
Nickname(s) Founded       The Water Front Boys 1964
Ground National Stadium
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Capacity 36,000
Owner Coach                 Sierra Leone Port Authority (SLPA)Alusine Bala Kargbo
Chairman Musa Sesay
Team Manager Ibrahim Takura Kamara
League Sierra Leone National Premier League

Ports Authority Football Club is a Sierra Leonean professional football club based in the capital Freetown. The club is a member of the Sierra Leone National Premier League, which is the top football division in Sierra Leone. The club is owned and run by the Sierra Leone Ports Authority (SLPA). Ports Authority do their training at the Attouga Mini Stadium and  play their home games at the National Stadium in Freetown.

One of the biggest and most popular football clubs in Sierra Leone, they won the Sierra Leone National Premier League championship in 1973 and again in 2008, 11 and 14. They have won the Sierra Leonean FA Cup competition on two consecutive times in 1990 and 1991. Ports Authority have an intense rivalry with East End Lions as both clubs come from the east end of Freetown. In 1996, Ports Authority became the first and only Sierra Leonean football club to reach the quarter-final of CAF Confederation Cup.

The Sierra Leone Ports Authority is sole sponsor of the club who is responsible for players wages, welfare and everything pertaining the smooth running of the club. Ports Authority Football Club has been one of the most successful club in the east and as well as in the country as a whole. It caters for a large amount of younger talents, paving the way for these talents to success and ensure that they are being able to live their dreams.

Due to the sole sponsorship with the Sierra Leone Ports Authority (SLPA), whenever the SLPA is in crisis, it affects the club and sometimes made the club to crumble. When the ebola virus was in Sierra Leone, Ports Authority FC where still paying their players even though there weren’t football activity in the country for two years and they where the last club to win the League before the outbreak.

They recently won a trophy in January 2016 organized by The East End Lions Fan Club.


1973, 2008, 2011, 2014.

1990, 1991, 2004, 2011.

Performance in CAF competitions

2000 – Preliminary Round

2009 – Preliminary Round


1974 – First Round

2007 – First Round

2011 – Preliminary Round

1996 – Quarter-Finals

1991 – disqualified in First Round

1992 – First Round

Notable players



Exit mobile version